About Us

Alpha Epsilon Delta

Arizona Beta Chapter


Mission Statement

Alpha Epsilon Delta is the National Health Preprofessional Honor Society dedicated to the encouragement and recognition of excellence in preprofessional health scholarship, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary, and others. The Society welcomes all students engaged in the pursuit of a professional healthcare career. AED offers opportunities for intellectual and professional development, provides a forum for students with common interests, and extends a program of service to benefit the college/university community.

Pictured: NMC 108 after being inducted!

Who We Are

The Arizona Beta chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta is dedicated to the encouragement and recognition of pre-health scholarship and development at the University of Arizona. This group of roughly 130 students engage in active learning through various health, philanthropy, membership, and social events sponsored by the club. The events include learning about topics within the healthcare field, giving back to the greater Tucson community, and  helping students become stronger applications for post-graduate programs. 

Every semester AED welcomes roughly 30 members into the organization to participate in the New Member Experience which includes special events such as the Big Little Program and a formal induction to celebrate their hard-work. These neophytes will then join our active members in continuing their academic journey while being surrounded by a supportive STEM-centric community. 

In the past years, some of our notable accomplishments have been the Sonoran Relief Fund (an initiative that has raised $3,800 for COVID Relief), our partnership with Kaplan (which offers members discounted classes for their post-graduate exams), our sponsorship by BeMo Academic Consulting and the various resources they provide for graduate school, and most importantly the incredible memories and friends we have made. 

Meet the Board



VIce President

Lahari Samak

Major: Physiology
Minors: Biochemistry
and Hindi
Career goal: Physician
Hometown: Phoenix, AZ
Favorite AED event: Philo


Kate Ruffley

Major: Neuroscience and Cognitive Sciences
Minors: Biochemistry
Career goal: Pediatric neurologist
Hometown: Gilbert, AZ
Favorite AED event: TopGolf!




Logan McGoldrick-Ruth

Major: Physiology 
Minors: Emergency Medicine
Career goal: Emergency Medicine Doctor
Hometown: Tucson, AZ
Favorite AED event: Boxtober


Zahra Naveed

Major: Neuroscience and Cognitive Sciences
Minors: Biochemistry and Molecular & Cellular Biology
Career goal: Ob-gyn
Hometown: Mississippi
Favorite AED event: Active retreat or Z-Mansion



ExEcutive board

Morgan Perlman

Major: Nursing 
Minors: Spanish
Career goal: Pediatric Nurse
Hometown: Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Favorite AED event: Goat yoga 



Health chair

Philanthropy chair

Bryce Michael

Major: Physiology
Minors: Biochemistry
Career goal: Physician
Hometown: Gilbert, AZ
Favorite AED event: Volleyball


Fiona Thomas

Major: Physiology
Minors: Nutrition
Career goal: Ob/gyn Surgeon or Emergency Medicine
Hometown: Gilbert, AZ
Favorite AED event: Highway cleanup

ua.philanthropy.aed@gmail. com

New Member educators

Morgan Whitesell

Major: Psychological Science
Minors: Sports Nutrition
Career goal: Physicians Assistant
Hometown: Wylie, Texas
Favorite AED event: The blood drive!


Brent Lee

Major: Neuroscience and Biochemistry
Minors: Spanish and Mathematics
Career goal: Neurosurgeon
Hometown: Tucson, AZ
Favorite AED event: TopGolf



Speaker Chair

Alexa Sell

Major: Veterinary Science
Minors: Nutritional Science
Career goal: Own her own practice
Hometown: Prescott, AZ
Favorite AED event: Big/Little reveal!


Cleoniki Demetriou

Major: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Career goal: Something in pediatrics
Hometown: Las Vegas, Nevada
Favorite AED event: New member retreat!!


Event Chairs

Arianna Camargo

Major: Pharmaceutical Sciences
Minor: Business Administration
Career goal: Professional school and then wherever that leads!
Hometown: Tucson, Arizona
Favorite AED event: Goat yoga


Natasha Barton

Major: Physiology and Spanish
Minors: Biochemistry
Career goal: Cardiologist or Oncologist
Hometown: Denver, Colorado
Favorite AED event: Active retreat!


Fundraising chair

Membership chair

Cole Houser

Major: Biology
Minor: Spanish
Career goal: ER/Trauma Physician
Hometown: Libertyville, Illinois
Favorite AED event: New Member Retreat

ua.fundraising.aed@gmail. com

Zakary Williams

Major: Biochemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Career goal: Researcher (Ph.D)
Hometown: Roseville, California
Favorite AED event: Munchin with Matiatos

ua.development.aed@gmail .com